If you are typing text into Kickserv and your browser becomes slow to respond, autofill may be the culprit.  Autofill, which is a feature on all browsers that fills out the entire forms such as those that ask for shipping or billing information. Autocomplete is not the same. It is a feature that gives you suggestions as you type in a form field, like an address bar or search box.

If this is happening to you, we recommend clearing your autofill history, or disabling autofill altogether. 

In this article, we'll tell you how to do both of these things in some of the most popular web browsers. If you choose to clear autofill history only, remember that it will eventually fill back up, so you'll want to clear it periodically.

Google Chrome

Disable Autofill

  1. Click the Chrome menu icon (the three dots at the top right of the window)
  2. Click Settings.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click Advanced to show the advanced settings.
  4. In the Passwords and Forms section, click Autofill Settings.
  5. Change the top switch from On to Off.

Clear Autofill Data

  1. Click the Chrome menu icon (the three dots at the top right of the window)
  2. Click More Tools > Clear Browsing Data...
  3. At the top, choose the Advanced tab.
  4. Check Autofill form data in the list. Uncheck anything you do not want cleared.
  5. Click the CLEAR DATA button.

This action may take some time to complete, depending on how often you clear your browsing history.

Firefox Instructions

In Firefox, you will want to not only turn off autofill data, but also clear it. Instructions are listed below.

Turning off Autofill in Firefox

  1. Click on the Firefox menu icon. (Three lines at top right of screen.)
  2. Click on Options.
  3. Choose the Privacy icon.
  4. In the History section choose Firefox will: “Use custom settings for history.”
  5. Uncheck “Remember search and form history.”
  6. Click OK

Clearing Autofill Data in Firefox

  1. Click on the Firefox menu icon. (Three lines at top right of screen.)
  2. Click on History
  3. Click on “Clear recent History.”
  4. In the Time Range to Clear drop down, choose “Everything.”
  5. Click on the arrow next to Details to display a list of items to clear.
  6. Make sure “Form & Search History” is checked.
  7. Click Clear Now.

Note: This action may take some time to complete, depending on how often you clear your browsing history. 

Internet Explorer Instructions

In Internet Explorer, you will want to not only turn off autofill data, but also clear it. Instructions are listed below.

Turning off Autofill in Internet Explorer

  1. Click on the Tools menu icon. (Gear at top right of screen.)
  2. Click on Internet Options.
  3. Select the Content tab.
  4. In the AutoComplete section click on Settings.
  5. Uncheck Forms and User Names and Passwords on Forms.
  6. Click OK in the AutoComplete Settings Window.
  7. Click OK in the Internet Options Window.

Clearing Autofill Data in Internet Explorer

  1. Click on the Tools menu icon. (Gear at top right of screen.)
  2. Click on Internet Options.
  3. Select the Content tab.
  4. In the AutoComplete section click on Settings.
  5. At the bottom of the AutoComplete Settings window, click Delete AutoComplete History.
  6. Check Form Data and Passwords.
  7. Click Delete.
  8. Click OK in the AutoComplete Settings Window.
  9. Click OK in the Internet Options Window.

Note: This action may take some time to complete, depending on how often you clear your browsing history.

Safari Instructions

In Safari, you will want to not only turn off autofill data, but also clear it. Instructions are listed below.

Turning off Autofill in Safari

  1. Click on the Safari menu. (The word Safari at the top of the screen.)
  2. Click on Preferences.
  3. Choose AutoFill
  4. Uncheck “Using info from my Contacts Card/Address Book Card” and “Other Forms”
  5. Click Done.

Clearing Autofill Data in Safari

  1. Click on the Safari menu. (The word Safari at the top of the screen.)
  2. Click on Preferences.
  3. Choose AutoFill
  4. Next to “Other Forms” click Edit.
  5. Click Remove All.
  6. Click Done.
Did this answer your question?